Light cruising gear

Manik

Manik
Total Posts:  220
Joined  01-01-2013

08 July 2014 04:18

Hey guys,

I’m thinking a bit about how much stowage space to design into Firstborne. I have no cruising experience whatsoever, my sailing has been limited to dinghes and the occasional daysailing trip in a yacht, so I don’t really have a good idea of how much stowage space I’m going to need. Does anyone have a good list on hand that they’d be willing to share?

Requirements & design brief:
- Lightweight, it’s a very small boat, and loading it up with tons of gear is not an option, so I’m really looking for the bare minimum here
- The worst-case scenario from a gear standpoint would be that two people take the boat for say 4 weeks of coastal cruising in the baltic sea. I’d say running into a port briefly once every couple of days, to stock up on food etc. would be fine (and unavoidable, unless you take a watermaker and freeze-dried food)
- The boat has no engine, just sail and oar, like in the olden days before combustion engines 😉
- In terms of spares I think I’d take just a bit of extra wood, epoxy, and fiberglass along, enough to patch a hole or repair a rudder properly (permanently), but not much more. So maybe enough for 1m^2 of everything, which should come in at a couple of kgs.

So, anyone got a good list / resource? I’ll sit down and draft one myself later on as well, gotta get going right now though. 😉

Cheers,
Marco

James

James
Total Posts:  148
Joined  29-10-2011

08 July 2014 23:17

Hi Marco,
I remember reading Tom Jones and him givinghis estimate of weight per person for cruising in one of his books. I’ll have a look and see if I can find it for you.

Manik

Manik
Joined  01-01-2013

09 July 2014 00:18

That’d be great thanks!

Skip

Skip
Total Posts:  317
Joined  11-11-2011

09 July 2014 15:50

Thought I had one at hand but turned out I didn’t, but it’s easy to remember.